Stay up to date on the latest Tribeca news and special offers. Sign up for our newsletter
Monogamy

Encounters

World Premiere

USA | 94 MINUTES | English |

MONOGAMY

Drama, Thriller

Thirtysomethings Theo (Chris Messina) and Nat (Rashida Jones) are engaged to be married. They live what seems to be on all counts a comfortable life of love, music, and laughter in their cozy Brooklyn apartment. But Theo is bored with his job as a wedding photographer—the generic backgrounds, the artificial posing, the stilted newlyweds—so he develops the unconventional side business "Gumshoot," a service where clients hire him to secretly stalk them with his camera. When he is called out on a job to snap pics of an exhibitionist mystery woman (Meital Dohan), a simple gig develops into a voyeuristic obsession that forces Theo to confront uncomfortable truths about himself and his impending marriage.

Glowing with pitch-perfect performances by Messina and Jones, the first narrative feature from Oscar®-nominated director Dana Adam Shapiro (Murderball) marries a mystery-thriller with a slice-of-life relationship drama to present a marvelously observed portrait of masculinity in crisis in the face of its own fantasies and fears of commitment.


CAST & CREDITS

Directed by Dana Adam Shapiro and Dana Adam Shapiro

Dana Adam Shapiro co-directed and produced the Oscar®-nominated documentary Murderball. His animated short My Biodegradable Heart premiered at the Festival in 2007. He is the writer of the upcoming movie Holler and is currently writing the pilot for the new HBO drama Screenz.
Director
Dana Adam Shapiro
Screenwriter
Dana Adam Shapiro, Evan M. Wiener
Casting
Billy Hopkins
Director of Photography
Doug Emmett
Co Producer
Jeremy L. Kotin
Primary Cast
Chris Messina, Rashida Jones, Meital Dohan, Ivan Martin, Zak Orth, Sarah Burns
Producers
Jeff Mandel, Randy Manis, Tom Heller, Dana Adam Shapiro

CONTACTS

Director's Agent
Sylvie Rabineau
RWSH Agency
Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone: 310 209 2700
sylvie@rwshagency.com
Submitter
Jeremy Kotin
JLK Productions LLC
New York, NY 10011
Phone: 646 478 7303
jeremy@jeremykotin.com
Producer
Jeff Mandel
TBD Productions
New York, NY 10024
Phone: 646-290-8809
jvmandel@gmail.com
Director's Manager
Brian Young
Untitled Entertainment
Los Angeles, CA 90067
Phone: 310 601 2119
young@untitledent.com
Print Source
Kristen Molina
New York, NY 10011
Phone: 212 691 2580
kristen@finalframepost.com
Technical Contact
Joseph Lee
New York, NY 10011
Phone: 212 691 2580
joseph@finalframepost.com
Producer
Randy Manis
Killer Films
New York, NY 10001
Phone: (212) 473-3950
rmanis9999@hotmail.com