Creating an account with gives you access to more features and services, like our weekly newsletter and other special features just for the film community.



TRIBECA TV 59 Minutes World Premiere
The Eyeslicer is a new variety TV show that brings the next generation of alternative American filmmakers together under one strange roof. The hour-long show will slice, dice, and then mince your eyeballs into delicious ceviche. Each episode is a handcrafted mixtape, blending boundary-pushing short form work into into a weird, wild, uninterrupted whole. The Eyeslicer premieres at Tribeca with the episode "Facial Reconstruction", featuring work from acclaimed indie filmmakers Lauren Wolkstein, Erin Vassilopoulos, Shaka King, Danny Madden, and Leah Shore.

After the episode: A conversation with co-creators Dan Schoenbrun and Vanessa McDonnell, and filmmakers Lauren Wolkstein, Erin Vassilopoulos, Shaka King, Danny Madden, and Leah Shore.Moderated by filmmaker and performer, Josephine Decker.
Drama, Comedy, Documentary, Animation, Experimental

Josephine Decker

Said to be ushering in a “new grammar of narrative” by The New Yorker, Decker premiered her first two narrative features Butter on the Latch and Thou Wast Mild and Lovely at the Berlinale 2014 to rave reviews and many awards. This summer, she directed her fourth feature.

Vanessa McDonnell

Dan Schoenbrun

Shaka King

Shaka King is a writer, director and producer of movies and television.

Lauren Wolkstein

Lauren Wolkstein is a NY-based filmmaker whose short films include Social Butterfly (2013 Sundance), Cigarette Candy (2010 SXSW Grand Jury Prize) and The Strange Ones co-directed with Christopher Radcliff (2011 Sundance). Lauren and Christopher adapted The Strange Ones into their first feature film (2017 SXSW). Lauren also recently completed collective:unconscious, an omnibus feature spearheaded by Dan Schoenbrun (2016 SXSW). Filmmaker Magazine named Lauren one of the “25 New Faces of Independent Film.” She received her MFA in film directing from Columbia University and is an assistant professor of Film and Media Arts at Temple University.

Leah Shore

Leah Shore is a director and artist living in NYC. She was named one of Filmmaker Magazines “25 New Faces in Independent Film…”, and has been written about in publications such as VICE, The Atlantic, The Wall Street Journal, Indiewire, Filmmaker Magazine and Talkhouse Film, etc. She is a freelance director, writer, animator, artist and music-er. She is currently producing two live action films and has recently started to pitch comedic live action and animated TV shows.

Erin Vassilopoulos

Originally from Minnesota, Erin Vassilopoulos is a filmmaker currently based in New York. Vassilopoulos’s short film, Superior, which she wrote and directed, premiered at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival. The premiere was followed by a series of screenings including the Berlinale, Hong Kong International Film Festival, Los Angeles Film Festival, and BFI London Film Festival, before being acquired by ARTE. Vassilopoulos graduated with an MFA from NYU’s graduate film program in 2016 with her thesis film, Valeria. She is currently writing her first feature film.

Danny Madden

Danny Madden makes films with friends under the name ORNANA. Some of these films are animated, some are not. He was raised in the southeast and in 2012 was featured on Filmmaker Magiazine's "25 New Faces of Indie Film." You can watch movies he's made at

Film Info
  • Section:
    Tribeca TV
  • Year:
  • Length:
    59 minutes
  • Language:
  • Country:
  • Premiere:
  • Connect:
Cast & Credits
  • Network:
  • Showrunner/Executive Producer:
    Dan Schoenbrun, Vanessa McDonnell
  • Add'l Credit 1:
    Zia Anger, Joanna Arnow, Ari Aster, Harrison Atkins, Brad Bischoff, Frances Bodomo, Garrett Bradley, Patrick Bresnan, Tom Brown, Christina Choe, Darius Clark Monroe, Taylor Cohan, Brandon Daley, Jack Dunphy, LJ Frezza, Augustine Frizzel, Jason Giampietro, Sam Goetz, Sasha Gransjean, Colin Healy, Efren Hernandez, Gillian Horvat, Zach Jones, Shaka King, Nellie Kluz, Daniel Laabs, Lucas Levya, Elizabeth Lo, David Lowery, Ivete Lucas, Brian Lonano, Danny Madden, Jillian Mayer, Vanessa McDonnell, Michaela Olsen, Ougie Pak, Christopher Radcliffe, Iva Radivojevic, Calvin Reeder, Jennifer Reeder, Celia Rowlson Hall, Dan Schoenbrun, Kelly Sears, Amy Seimetz, Leah Shore, Nathan Silver, Annie Silverstein, Peyton Skyler, Matthew Sullivan, Yen Tan, Erin Vassilopoulos, Ryan Weibush, Ben Wheele, Lauren Wolkstein, Olivia Wyatt, C. Spencer Yeh, Zellner Bros



When tickets for a screening or event are no longer available, they will be listed as RUSH. The Rush system functions as a stand-by line that will form at the venue approximately 45 minutes prior to scheduled start time. Admittance is based on availability and will begin 15 minutes prior to program start time. Rush Tickets are the same price as advance tickets payable upon entry. There is a limit of one Rush Ticket per person.