Directed by Andy Schocken and Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy
FEATURE DOCUMENTARY 83 Minutes World Premiere
Since the time of Pakistan’s independence, the city of Lahore was world-renowned for its music. Then with the Islamization of Pakistan in the 1970s, many of Lahore’s most accomplished and celebrated musicians struggled to continue their life’s work. Song of Lahore turns the spotlight on a group of brave musicians that kept on playing.

Sachal Studios has attracted an audience from around the world for their experimental sound, fusing traditional music with contemporary Western flare. When their rendition of Dave Brubeck's piece ‘Take Five’ gets the attention of Wynton Marsalis, they are invited to take the stage at New York’s Jazz at Lincoln Center. Directors Andy Schocken and Oscar®–winner Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy offer a moving and uplifting look at cultural preservation and a group of passionate and skilled musicians who risk their own safety to inspire listeners from all over the globe.

—Dan Hunt
Female Director(s), Documentary, Music, New York, NY Director(s)
About the Director(s)
TFF alumnus Andy Schocken is a documentary filmmaker and cinematographer whose credits include Beyond the Brick: A Lego Brickumentary. Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy is an Academy and Emmy Award-winning documentary filmmaker whose long filmography includes Pakistan's Taliban Generation, Saving Face and The New Apartheid.

Film Info
  • Section:
    World Documentary Competition
  • Year:
  • Length:
    83 minutes
  • Language:
    English, Punjabi, Urdu
  • Country:
  • Premiere:
  • Connect:
Cast & Credits
  • Producer:
    Andy Schocken, Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy
  • Cast:
    The Sachal Jazz Ensemble, Wynton Marsalis and the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra
  • Co-Producer:
    Asad Faruqi
  • Associate Producer:
    Wasif Arshad
  • Editor:
    Flavia de Souza
  • Director:
    Andy Schocken, Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy
  • Cinematographer:
    Asad Faruqi
  • Co-Executive Producer:
    Jenny Raskin
  • Executive Producer:
    Dan Cogan, Geralyn White Dreyfous, Natalie Massenet, Guy Oseary, Vijay Vaidyanathan, David Waechter