Directed by Gerardo Chijona
FEATURE NARRATIVE 85 Minutes International Premiere
Gerardo Chijona’s (Ticket to Paradise) newest film opens with a thief, Maikel (Héctor Medina) and his brother breaking into the home of a famous writer, Justo (Vladimir Cruz) and unknowingly stealing what turns out to be the only manuscript of his upcoming story.

Forced into a criminal lifestyle by circumstance, Maikel and his brother are on the lowest rung of society, mocked even by their mob boss, Soave (Enrique Molina) who jibes them that the world needs more businessmen than criminals before giving them their next assignment. Tired of being in perpetual debt, Maikel jumps at the chance of entering a respected literary competition he comes across with the script they’ve stolen. With the help of Soave, as his self-proclaimed writing mentor, Maikel sets out to rewrite the script in order to conceal Justo’s signature style as unbeknownst to both of them, Justo himself decides to enter.

Despite a light air and humorous touches, violence and passion are never far from the surface as Chijona examines the importance of culture for a society, emphasizing that it is a multitude of voices, of writers, of stories which create a nation. Everyone’s voice is important and embracing this paves the path to freedom.

—Jule Rozite

Presented in partnership with Havana Film Festival New York.
Drama, Comedy
About the Director(s)
Gerardo Chijona Valdés is a Cuban film director and critic who began his career as a director making documentaries. Among his best known films is Ticket to Paradise. His other credits include Adorable Lies, Un paraíso bajo las estrellas and Perfecto amor equivocado.

Film Info
  • Section:
  • Year:
  • Length:
    85 minutes
  • Language:
  • Country:
  • Premiere:
  • Connect:
Cast & Credits
  • Cinematographer:
    Raúl Pérez Ureta
  • Director:
    Gerardo Chijona
  • Line Production:
    Rubén Carreño, Evelio Delgado
  • Screenwriter:
    Francisco García & Gerardo Chijona
  • Sound Track Design:
    Osmany Olivare
  • Editor:
    Miriam Talavera
  • Executive Producer:
    Isabel Prendes, Danilo León
  • Producer:
    Susana Molina, Francisco Adrianzén
  • Direct Sound:
    Jorge Luis Chijona
  • Art Director:
    Alexis Álvarez
  • Composer:
    Edesio Alejandro
  • Cast:
    Héctor Medina, Enrique Molina, Carlos Enrique Almirante, Vladimir Cruz, Miriel Cejas, Amarilis Núñez, Osvaldo Doimeadiós, Mario Guerra, Alejandro Rivera